LAS VEGAS – The Mountain West announced its 2023-24 men’s basketball awards Tuesday. The league’s 11 head coaches voted on the All-Conference teams, as well as the coach, player, defensive player, newcomer, sixth man and freshman honors.

Utah State head coach Danny Sprinkle was named the MW Steve Fisher Coach of the Year, while Aggie junior wing Great Osobor was selected as the MW Player of the Year and the Newcomer of the Year. San Diego State’s Lamont Butler was voted as the Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico forward Mustapha Amzil and Utah State guard Josh Uduje were voted the MW Co-Sixth Man of the Year, while New Mexico forward JT Toppin and UNLV guard Dedan Thomas Jr. were recognized as MW Co-Freshman of the Year.

Sprinkle, who is in his first year as Utah State’s head coach, guided the Aggies to a 14-4 mark in Conference play. Utah State earned its second MW regular-season title and first outright title since joining the league in 2013-14. This marks the second time that a Utah State coach has been named MW Coach of the Year and first since 2020.

Osobor is the second Aggie to be named Mountain West Player of the Year and the first player from USU to be selected as the MW Newcomer of the Year. In his first year in the league, Osobor averaged 17.8 points and 8.9 boards per game, while connecting on 57.9 percent of attempts from the field. In MW play, he posted eight double-doubles.

Butler is the third straight Aztec to be voted MW Defensive Player of the Year and seventh in school history. The senior recorded the second-most steals (32) during Conference action. Butler and the Aztecs held opponents to 41.3 percent shooting from the field, the best field-goal percentage defense in the league.

Amzil is the first Lobo to be named MW Sixth Man of the Year and appeared in all 18 Mountain West games for New Mexico. He averaged nine points and 4.4 boards per game off the bench, while shooting 46.9 percent from the floor.

Uduje is the third player from Utah State to earn MW Sixth Man of the Year honors. He finished the Conference season with 8.7 points and 2.6 rebounds per game, while shooting 40.1 percent from the field. The junior played in every league this season.

Toppin is the second New Mexico player to be named MW Freshman of the Year in program history and first since 2011. He started all 18 league games, averaging 12.7 points and a MW-leading 9.6 rebounds per game. The freshman is shooting 59.9 percent from the field, the best field-goal percentage in the MW.

Thomas is fifth Runnin’ Rebel and first since 2018 to earn MW Freshman of the Year honors. In his first season with the Scarlet and Gray, he led UNLV in scoring during MW play, averaging 14.4 points per game. The guard also dished out 4.4 assists per contest and shot 43.4 percent from the field.

2023-24 All-Mountain West Men’s Basketball Team

First Team

Tyson Degenhart, Jr., F, Boise State

Isaiah Stevens, Gr., G, Colorado State

Jaedon LeDee, Sr., F, San Diego State

Darius Brown II, Gr, G, Utah State

Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State


Second Team

O’Mar Stanley, Jr., F, Boise State

Kenan Blackshear, Gr., G, Nevada

Jarod Lucas, Gr., G, Nevada

Donovan Dent, So., G, New Mexico

JT Toppin, Fr., F, New Mexico

Dedan Thomas Jr., Fr., G, UNLV


Third Team

Nique Clifford, Sr., G, Colorado State

Nick Davidson, So., F, Nevada

Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico

Keylan Boone, Sr., F, UNLV


Defensive Team

Tré Coleman, Sr., F, Nevada

Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico

Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State

Luis Rodriguez, Sr., G, UNLV

Darius Brown II, Gr., G, Utah State


Honorable Mention

Chibuzo Agbo, Sr., G, Boise State

Max Rice, Sr., G, Boise State

Lamont Butler, Sr., G San Diego State

MJ Amey, Jr., G, San José State

Kalib Boone, Sr., F, UNLV

Ian Martinez, Sr., G, Utah State

Sam Griffin, Sr., G, Wyoming


Player of the Year:  Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Defensive Player of the Year: Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State

Newcomer of the Year: Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Co-Sixth Man of the Year: Mustapha Amzil, Sr., F, New Mexico

Co-Sixth Man of the Year: Josh Uduje, Jr., G, Utah State

Co-Freshman of the Year: JT Toppin, F, New Mexico

Co-Freshman of the Year: Dedan Thomas Jr., UNLV

Steve Fisher Coach of the Year: Danny Sprinkle, Utah State