IRVING, Texas – Three former players and coaches with Mountain West ties are among the nominees included on the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, as announced by the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame today.

Former Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore (2008-11) and former Utah defensive back Eric Weddle (2003-06) are among the 77 former Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes on the ballot, while former Utah coach Urban Meyer (2003-04) is among the nine former FBS coaches on the ballot.

The winningest quarterback in the history of college football, Moore led Boise State to a record of 50-3 in his four years as a starter, finishing his career ranked second in NCAA history in career passing touchdowns (142), third in career passing efficiency (168.97) and fifth in career passing yardage (14,667).

He was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy in 2010 and was named conference offensive player of the year three times, including in 2011, his lone year in the MW. The Football Writers Association of America named Moore a first-team All-American in 2010, and the Touchdown Club of Columbus tabbed him as the nation’s top quarterback in both 2010 and 2011, ultimately naming the award after him.

Off the field, Moore was a second-team Academic All-American in 2010 and a four-time conference all-academic selection. He earned a degree from Boise State in communication in less than four years.

Weddle wrapped up his career at Utah with 277 tackles, which included 165 solo stops, 10.0 sacks and 22.5 tackles for loss, along with nine forced fumbles, six fumble recoveries (2 TD), 18 interceptions (3 TD) and 23 pass breakups. He held the Mountain West record in interceptions (18), still ranking second all-time at Utah.

He was the MW Defensive Player of the Year in 2005 and 2006, also earning first-team All-Mountain West in those years to become a four-time all-conference selection. He was a consensus All-American in 2006, also earning Freshman All-America by the FWAA in 2003.

Weddle spent 14 years in the NFL, earning two All-Pro first-team selections, three second-team nods, six Pro Bowl invites and helped the L.A. Rams win the Super Bowl LVI in 2021 after coming out of retirement. He also has launched a jewelry line to benefit organizations providing resources to domestic violence victims while also supporting charities with his wife, Chanel, to fight against childhood cancer and breast cancer.

Meyer led Utah to a combined 22-2 record in his two years in the Mountain West, winning the league both times. His 2003 squad went 10-2 overall and 6-1 in Conference play, topping Southern Miss in the Liberty Bowl and finishing with a No. 21 national ranking.

His 2004 squad was even better, going 12-0 (7-0 MW) and finishing with a No. 4 national ranking. Meyer led the Utes to a 35-7 win over Pittsburgh in the Fiesta Bowl as Utah became the first program from a non-automatic qualifying league to appear in a BCS game.

He was named the Mountain West Coach of the Year in both of his years in the league.

To be eligible for the ballot, a player must have been named a first-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for its consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 full seasons prior; played within the last 50 years; and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head football coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three full seasons. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In all cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

The ballot is emailed to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which deliberate and select the class.