ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Colorado State swept the 2024 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championship titles on Saturday afternoon at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

This marks the third time in program history that the Rams have swept the MW Indoor Track & Field Championships and first since 2019.

The Colorado State women won their seventh MW championship and third in a row after tallying 113 points, edging San Diego State by 10 points. The Rams won four women’s individual MW titles on their way to victory.

On the men’s side, the Rams claimed their fifth MW title and first since 2020 after earning 162 points to beat out Air Force (146.5). CSU won four individual events at the 2024 meet.

Colorado State head coach Brian Bedard was named the MW Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year at the conclusion of the meet. Bedard has been named the league’s men’s coach of the year four times and has earned women’s coach of the year honors for the fifth time in his career.

San Diego State’s Hannah Waller was named the MW Women’s Outstanding Track Performer of the Meet award after winning gold in the 60-meter dash and placing second in the 200-meter dash. The MW Men’s Outstanding Track Performer of the Meet award went to New Mexico’s Habtom Samuel after winning both long distance events and breaking MW championship records in both events.

Colorado State’s Mya Lesnar was named the MW Women’s Outstanding Field Performer of the meet, winning individual titles in the weight throw and shot put. CSU’s Mariano Kis was selected as the MW Men’s Outstanding Field Performer of the Meet after winning the MW individual shot put title and placing fourth in the weight throw.

The first women’s record of the day fell at the hands of Sky Hagan of San José State, who won the 60-meter hurdles with a championship-record time of 8.09, besting the previous record by two hundredths of a second.

In the men’s 3,000-meter race, Samuel broke the MW championship record after crossing the finish line in 7:57.59. San José State’s Jaden Smith won the 400-meter dash after clocking a meet-record time of 46.08.

San José State’s Emilia Sjostrand claimed her second MW triple jump title in a row. She recorded a jump of 14.09 meters, breaking the Mountain West’s all-time record set a year ago. Lesnar claimed her first indoor shot put title with a MW all-time mark of 19.10 meters.

2024 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Champions – Day Three


Triple Jump: Emilia Sjostrand, San Jose State; 14.09m

Shot Put: Mya Lesnar, Colorado State; 19.10m

Mile: Salma Elbadra, Wyoming; 4:46.07

60-Meter Hurdles: Sky Hagan, San Jose State; 8.09

400 Meters: Shaqueena Foote, San Diego State; 52.43

60 Meters: Hannah Waller, San Diego State; 7.22
800 Meters: Halyn Senegal, Nevada; 2:07.48

200 Meters: Kennedi Porter, UNLV; 23.07

3,000 Meters: Mercy Kirarei, New Mexico; 9:23.29

4×400 Relays: Melia Middleton, Annalies Kalma, Bonet Henderson, Halyn Senegal, Nevada; 3:37.20


High Jump: Jalan Rivers, Air Force; 2.11m

Shot Put: Mariano Kis, Colorado State; 19.12m

Triple Jump: Allam Bushara, Colorado State; 15.96m

Mile: Brennan Benson, Utah State; 4:11.48

60-Meter Hurdles: Malachi Snow, San Jose State, 7.75

400 Meters: Jaden Smith, San Jose State; 46.08

60 Meters: Malachi Snow, San Jose State; 6.67

800 Meters: Ryan Birkmeier, Colorado State; 1:48.54

200 Meters: Christopher Coats, San Jose State; 20.88

3,000 Meters: Habtom Samuel, New Mexico; 7:57.59

4×400 Relays: Kenny Carpenter, Carsen Bruns, Jack Cauble, Tom Willems, Colorado State; 3:10.95