Courtesy of UNLV

LAS VEGAS – UNLV’s Jose Pizano has become just the second Rebel to be named a member of the prestigious Walter Camp All-America Team as he was announced as the second team kicker during Friday night’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

Pizano (piz-AH-no) is a Super Senior who joined the Rebels after transferring from FCS program Missouri State. The native of Lehi, Utah, has shattered the UNLV record book this fall, setting new marks for field goals in a game (six) and a season (25), kicking points in a game (19) and a season (127) while also breaking the Rebel record for consecutive field goals made with 19.

The 2023 Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Year currently sits 25-of-27 in field-goal attempts (with a long of 52) and 52-for-52 in extra points. Pizano has hit two game-winning field goals this season (vs. Vanderbilt and Colorado State) en route to earning Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Week three times. He was one of three finalists for the Lou Groza Award, which was awarded Friday to Miami (Ohio) University’s Graham Nicholson during the ESPN broadcast.

This is the 134th edition of the Walter Camp All-America team, the nation’s oldest college football
All-America team. Twenty-five players each were selected to first and second teams by the 131 FBS head coaches and sports information directors. The 2023 Walter Camp All-Americans will be honored at the Foundation’s annual Awards Weekend on March 15-16, 2024, in New Haven, Connecticut.

The only Rebel previously voted to the Walter Camp team was UNLV Hall of Famer Joe Kristosik, a Las Vegas product who as a senior became a consensus All-American after leading the nation in punting in 1998.

The Rebels (9-4) are preparing to play Kansas in the 2023 Guaranteed Rate Bowl in Phoenix on December 26. Ticket information is available at


WR       Marvin Harrison, Jr., Ohio State
WR       Malik Nabers, LSU
TE        Brock Bowers, Georgia
OL        Joe Alt, Notre Dame
OL        Cooper Beebe, Kansas State
OL        Zak Zinter, Michigan
OL        Olumuyiwa Fashanu, Penn State
C          Jackson Powers-Johnson, Oregon
QB       Michael Penix, Jr., Washington
RB        Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State
RB        Omarion Hampton, North Carolina
PK        Graham Nicholson, Miami University

DL        Laiatu Latu, UCLA
DL        Jalen Green, James Madison
DL        Jonah Elliss, Utah
DL        T’Vondre Sweat, Texas
LB        Edgerrin Cooper, Texas A&M
LB        Payton Wilson, North Carolina State
LB        Jason Henderson, Old Dominion
DB        Xavier Watts, Notre Dame
DB        Cooper DeJean, Iowa
DB        Malaki Starks, Georgia
DB        Beanie Bishop, West Virginia
P          Tory Taylor, Iowa
KR        Jayden Harrison, Marshall

WR       Rome Odunze, Washington
WR       Malik Washington, Virginia
TE        Dallin Holker, Colorado State
OL        JC Latham, Alabama
OL        Clay Webb, Jacksonville State
OL        Taliese Fuaga, Oregon State
OL        Luke Kandra, Louisville
C          Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia
QB       Jayden Daniels, LSU
RB        Blake Corum, Michigan
RB        Cody Schrader, Missouri
PK        Jose Pizano, UNLV

DL        Jer’Zhan Newton, Illinois
DL        Howard Cross III, Notre Dame
DL        Ashton Gillotte, Louisville
DL        Tyleik Williams, Ohio State
LB        Jay Higgins, Iowa
LB        Dallas Turner, Alabama
LB        Danny Stutsman, Oklahoma
DB        Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri
DB        Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama
DB        Denzel Burke, Ohio State
DB        Tyler Nubin, Minnesota
P          Matt Hayball, Vanderbilt
KR        Zachariah Branch, USC