COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Five Mountain West football coaches are among the 61 nominees for the 2023 Broyles Award, as announced Tuesday by the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation. The award honors college football’s top assistant coaches.

Air Force defensive coordinator Brian Knorr, Colorado State tight ends coach James Finley, San José State offensive line coach/run game coordinator Josh Oglesby, UNLV offensive coordinator Brennan Marion and Utah State co-offensive coordinator/wide receivers coach Kyle Cefalo represent the MW on the list of nominees.

The 61 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 131 FBS programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee, and current college head coaches.

A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semifinalists, five finalists from the list of nominees, and an overall winner.