EAGLE, Idaho – The Mountain West announced its 2023 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country All-Conference teams following the conclusion of the league’s championship on Friday, Oct. 27. The top-14 finishers in each race at the MW championships receive All-MW honors, as the top seven earn first-team recognition, while those placing eighth through 14th garnered second-team accolades.

The Conference also awarded the MW Athlete of the Year honors to the top finishers of the men’s and women’s championship races. Colorado State’s Sarah Carter was awarded the honor on the women’s side after her first-place finish and crossing the finish line in 19:48.5, becoming the first Ram to win the women’s individual title since April Thomas in 2007.

On the men’s side, Habtom Samuel of New Mexico earned the MW Men’s Athlete of the Year award after winning the Conference individual title with a meet-record time of 22:57.7. Samuel is the first Lobo to claim the men’s individual title since 2012 and sixth overall.

New Mexico’s Evans Kiplagat and Julia Kiesler of Boise State earned MW Men’s and Women’s Freshmen of the Year honors, respectively.

As voted on by the league’s coaches, the MW Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year honor was given to Colorado State’s Kelly Hart, while New Mexico’s Darren Gauson collected the MW Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year award

In his first year at New Mexico, Gauson led the Lobo men’s team to their seventh team title in program history and first since 2014. Also, in her first season as head coach, Hart guided the Ram women’s team to their second team title and first since 2007.

All-Mountain West Cross Country First Team
Halle Hamilton, Air Force

Yasmin Austridge, Colorado State

Sarah Carter, Colorado State

Quinn McConnell, Colorado State

Nicola Jansen, New Mexico

Emma Thornley, Utah State

Abigail Whitman, Wyoming

All-Mountain West Cross Country Second Team

Ally Peterson, Air Force

Naomi Lokiles, Boise State

Autumn Ost, Boise State

Kaiya Robertson, Boise State

Kensey May, Colorado State

Klara Dess, New Mexico

Natalia Ruiz, UNLV

MW Women’s Athlete of the Year: Sarah Carter, Colorado State
MW Women’s Freshman of the Year:  Julia Kiesler, Boise State

MW Women’s Coach of the Year: Kelly Hart, Colorado State

All-Mountain West Cross Country First Team

Sean Maison, Air Force

Jason Renze, Air Force

Max Sannes, Air Force

Joe Hudson, Boise State

Evans Kiplagat, New Mexico

Lukas Kiprop, New Mexico

Habtom, Samuel, New Mexico

All-Mountain West Cross Country Second Team
Eli Bennett, Air Force

Luke Combs, Air Force

Tom Graham-Marr, Boise State

Tom Patrick, Boise State

Lars Mitchel, Colorado State

Jonathan Carmin, New Mexico

Mason Norman, Wyoming

MW Men’s Athlete of the Year:  Habtom Samuel, New Mexico
MW Men’s Freshman of the Year:  Evans Kiplagat, New Mexico

MW Men’s Coach of the Year:  Darren Gauson, New Mexico