TYLER, Texas – Eight Mountain West football student-athletes are among the 69 players on the eleventh annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List, which was announced Thursday.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically, tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or currently playing at Texas D1 four-year college.

The Watch List will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to five finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans, and previous winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Banquet scheduled for Jan. 10, 2024.

The Mountain West is third among all conferences with its eight selections, trailing only the Big 12 (15) and Pac-12 (12).

Boise State and Nevada both have two players on the watch list, while Hawai‘i, San Diego State, UNLV and Utah State have one each.

A player does not have to appear on the initial Watch List to be eligible to win the award. The Watch List is made up of players nominated from their respective schools.

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List (MW candidates)

Taylen Green, Quarterback, Boise State

Ashton Jeanty, Running Back, Boise State

Brayden Schager, Quarterback, Hawai‘i

Dalevon Campbell, Wide Receiver, Nevada

Brendon Lewis, Quarterback, Nevada

Jalen Mayden, Quarterback, San Diego State

Donavyn Lester, Running Back, UNLV

Robert Briggs Jr., Running Back, Utah State