Mountain West Athletes of the Year

The Mountain West Athlete of the Year awards are bestowed annually to one male and one female student-athlete who have achieved athletic excellence during the past academic year. In addition to superior athletic achievement, criterion for the MW Athlete of the Year Award requires that nominees be in good academic standing throughout their season of competition, and demonstrate good character and conduct on and off the playing field.
2022-23Sam GilmanMen's Cross Country/Track and FieldAir Force
2022-23Amelia Mazza-DownieWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldNew Mexico
2021-22Trey McBrideFootballColorado State
2021-22Kristie SchoffieldWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldBoise State
2020-21Avery WilliamsFootballBoise State
2020-21Mahala NorrisWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldAir Force
2019-20Malachi FlynnMen's BasketballSan Diego State
2019-20Weini KelatiWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldNew Mexico
2018-19Ryan JensenBaseballFresno State
2018-19Allie OstranderWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldBoise State
2017-18Rashaad PennyFootballSan Diego State
2017-18Allie OstranderWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldBoise State
2016-17Josh KerrMen's Track & FieldNew Mexico
2016-17Allie OstranderWomen's Track & FieldBoise State
2015-16Patrick CoronaMen's Cross Country/Track and FieldAir Force
2015-16Courtney FrerichsWomen's Cross Country/Track and FieldNew Mexico
2014-15Garrett GraysonFootballColorado State
2014-15Emma BatesWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldBoise State
2013-14Derek CarrFootballFresno State
2013-14Emma BatesWomen's Cross Country/Track & FieldBoise State
2012-13DJ PetersonBaseballNew Mexico
2012-13Shanieka ThomasWomen's Track & FieldSan Diego State
2011-12Kurt FelixMen's Track & FieldBoise State
2011-12Whitney GipsonWomen's Track & FieldTCU
2010-11Jimmer FredetteMen's BasketballBYU
2010-11Danielle MinchWomen's VolleyballColorado State
2009-10Jerry HughesFootballTCU
2009-10Jodi EwartWomen's GolfNew Mexico