Dr. Albert C. Yates Distinguished Service Award


The Dr. Albert C. Yates Distinguished Service Award may be presented to an individual who has served, supported and promoted the goals and ideals of the Mountain West or a member institution; an individual who, through personal effort and dedication, has enhanced the ability of the conference and/or its member institutions to provide a positive experience for the student-athletes enrolled at any member institution.

Past Winners

  • 2021-22: Janice Ruggiero, New Mexico; Lawrence Fan, San José State
  • 2017-18: Dr. Jim Francis, Colorado State
  • 2013-14: Marti Gasser, Air Force; Breda Bova, New Mexico
  • 2012-13: Sally Roush, San Diego State
  • 2010-11: Dr. Stephen Weber, San Diego State
  • 2007-08: Barbara Burke, Wyoming
  • 2006-07: Marsha Smeltzer, Colorado State; Larry Gerlach, Utah
  • 2005-06: Rudy Davalos, New Mexico
  • 2004-05: Elaine Michaelis, BYU
  • 2000-01: LaVell Edwards, BYU
  • 1999-00: Linda Estes, New Mexico

Note: Award may not be presented annually.