Conference Members
Mountain West Men's Basketball All-Conference Media Awards

Mountain West Men's Basketball All-Conference Media Awards

DENVER -- Boise State senior guard Chandler Hutchison has been voted the Mountain West men's basketball Player of the Year by members of the media who cover the conference.

Hutchison, from Mission Viejo, Calif., earned seven first-place player of the year votes, with the remaining first-place votes going to Nevada’s Caleb Martin. Hutchison finished the conference season as the Mountain West's leading scorer, averaging 21.9 points per game during league play, and averaged 7.1 rebounds and 3.2 assists per outing. His 44-point game against San Diego State on Jan. 13 was the conference’s best individual scoring performance of the season.

Hutchison  was accompanied on the All-MW first team by Martin and Jordan Caroline of Nevada and Justin James and Hayden Dalton of Wyoming
Coach of the Year was awarded to Nevada’s Eric Musselman, who beat out Paul Weir (New Mexico).

Martin, a junior transfer from North Carolina State, earned unanimous Newcomer of the Year honors. UNLV’s Brandon McCoy was Freshman of the Year pick. Wyoming's Louis Adams was named Sixth Man of the Year – the second consecutive season a Cowboy has earned that honor. Wyoming teammate Alan Herndon, was voted Defensive Player of the Year.

Nine of 11 Mountain West markets turned in ballots. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, beat reporters from competing publications put together a joint ballot.

Voters ranked their top 15 players for first-, second- and third-team All-MW with their player of the year pick receiving 15 points and the last man on the third-team receiving one point.

2017-2018 All-Mountain West Men’s Basketball Teams
1st Team
Chandler Hutchison, Boise State (7 POY votes)
Caleb Martin, Nevada (2)
Jordan Caroline, Nevada
Justin James, Wyoming
Hayden Dalton, Wyoming

2nd Team
Deshon Taylor, Fresno State
Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Cody Martin, Nevada
Sam Merrill, Utah State
Shakur Juiston, UNLV

3rd Team
Koby McEwen, Utah State
Jalen McDaniels, San Diego State
Anthony Mathis, New Mexico
Kendall Stephens, Nevada
Ryan Welage, San Jose State

Honorable mention: Antino Jackson, New Mexico; Nico Carvacho, Colorado State; Trevor Lyons, Air Force; Malik Pope, San Diego State; Jordan Johnson, UNLV; Alan Herndon, Wyoming; Bryson Williams, Fresno State; Chris Sengfelder, Boise State; Lexus Williams, Boise State.

Player of the Year: Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Coach of the Year: Eric Musselman, Nevada
Sixth Man of the Year: Louis Adams, Wyoming
Newcomer of the Year: Caleb Martin, Nevada
Freshman of the Year: Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Defensive Player of the Year: Alan Herndon, Wyoming